quatorzain to my coffee on a fine friday morning


o lovely go-juice,   you are not my usual
flavor,   my standard brand,   my favorite
blend;     no,   you are my austerity measure
brand,   purchased from aldi foodstores,   and yet
are you lesser for it?          and if slightly,
is this then a fearful inferiority?
or merely a subtle difference   .  .  .   I say
you hold the cream only slightly lighter,
a more casual tilt   .  .  .   your richness lacks
pretension,   guile,   sophistication,   but
you are no lesser,    no,     no lesser indeed:
more the prideless pleb,   utilitarian,
and the more pleasurable for being
more tasteful than chicory,   yet humble still.

David M Pitchford
18 May 2012

One thought on “quatorzain to my coffee on a fine friday morning

Leave a Reply

