Gravity of Locality


at nineteen, without direction, we drifted
in and out of town.          a few of us never
left,   but most of us at least tried to break
the weird gravity of this hometown small
burg river rat place.          phil was in and out
of the armed services from a week after
our first drink together,   first army and
later the marines once dessert storm came
into play.          dana went to college five
years to become a schoolmarm at the same
school we all came up in.      I took jobs here
and there in the big towns from time to time,
but times between,   I never wandered far,
and never came a stranger to yella’s.

David M Pitchford
18 May 2012

3 thoughts on “Gravity of Locality

  1. :) Lovely. Pity you never wandered far! :) Nineteen is the age one of my children is now, he lives too far away and I have no clue what he eats. I had my first child when I was nineteen, after a brief marriage, but my first drink a lot sooner lol. Being poor as a churchmouse is part of that age too I suppose. Maybe being a bit odler is more comfy :)

Leave a Reply

