Scavenger


Scavenger

This guy has an all-too-familiar perspective on Christianity. As you can see by my comments to his posts, I quite disagree with it. Fundamentalism is, in my opinion, more dangerous than any other evil on the planet – no matter what religion. I find it pitiful and piteous that such ideas and voices are so prominent. Unexamined faith, in my opinion, is untested and dead faith. Please understand that I am not judging people, per se, but their actions and especially their dogmatic tendencies of intolerance. Being a repentant fundamentalist myself, I find the “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God” approach quite distasteful, destructive, and anti-Christian. I’m usually easy to suck in to such discussions. And yet, I am quite distressed that people get so stupidly and blindly unreasonable about these matters.

5 thoughts on “Scavenger

  1. [[[Fundamentalism is, in my opinion, more dangerous than any other evil on the planet – no matter what religion.]]]

    I completely agree. I can’t even understand who would disagree.

    [[[Unexamined faith, in my opinion, is untested and dead faith.]]]

    Also couldn’t agree more. Studying my faith and studying the holy book of my faith, the bible, lead directly to my atheism.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Thomas of Doubting.
    Self-reflection is very difficult for many of us. Too many demands on our time. But never was it more needful. Dogma is the lazy shortcut to religion. Self-reflection and deep reflection on the spiritual is a way toward faith and spiritualism. It seems to me that spiritualism is more important than religion, and religion without it is vain and fruitless.
    It really trips me out that so many people go for the hellfire and overlook compassion. I find it really sad.
    If you tried to tag me with a label, I think it would be more accurate to tag me as an agnostic than it would be to call me an atheist. Another irony I find is that so many people accept the general mistake that atheists are incapable of being spiritual or religious or even moral or ethical.
    Extremes! Always someone wanting to polarize everything. Life and reality are not linear! It is multi-dimensional, organic, and full of beauty and mystery!
    Peace and Blessing!
    David

  3. Hey David, I completely understand the difficulty of choosing which ‘label’ to give yourself. Atheist’s beliefs are SO much more complex than the title suggests. I HATE LABELS! They are so limiting. This need to simplify everything by shoving it all into a category is such a bad habit we humans suffer from. Anyway, I hope you’ll check out my site http://doubtingthomas426.wordpress.com/ as I think it is right up your alley. Please feel free to leave a comment. I need more comments from rational thinkers like yourself.

    Keep up the good work!

    Take Care.

  4. One more thing: I’m new to the blogging world and I must say, I LOVE IT! There couldn’t be a more productive waste of time. What a great way to share ideas, opinions, experiences and learn about others who agree or completely disagree with you.

Leave a Reply

