Father to Son


Letter to My Son

Something I want you to understand:
Words are merely words!
I’ve said a great many words to you
I hope a select few
            have sunk in,
            touched you to your core
            reinforced the bulwarks of your selfhood
I hope many more
            have watershed
            rain off a duck’s wings

However;
I know
you, no duck, are
            a thunderbird!
            nor no mere swan.

What I really want
            you to understand:
words are as important
            as you take them to be.

In awe I have ever been
            both of you
            and your brother
            your quicksilver wit
            your abilities to comprehend
            complex topics
            some intellectual
            others emotional and ambiguous

My point:
            I want you to trust
            yourself, son
            your reason
            your thoughts
            your knowledge
            your intuition.

Tumultuous turmoil will occur
            over coming months
            unforeseen years
            entire lives . . .

David M Pitchford
9 December 2008

3 thoughts on “Father to Son

  1. Tumultuous turmoil will occur
    over coming months
    unforeseen years
    entire lives . . .

    I liked this line the most…great words with great emotions..just felt the way i talk to my brother..

Leave a Reply

