Twists of Guilt


Bosched up Love

In the garden of freshly pierced hearts,
I’m doing time with a shadow of you,
thorn still in your hand crimson and blood-stained;
and I stare hollow-eyed all bright with
soft admiration and honeyed words begging
you to forgive my tenderness in light
of your crystal ice delicate touch. You
pirouette in time to music I’m deaf to,
and I misstep cloven-hoofed to your tune,
bells ringing, clanging, dissonant and shrill
over your demands of loyalty,
forking from your unfaithful tongue, eyes green
with lies and adulteries of omission
cruel as inattention turned my way.

David M Pitchford
18 Sept 2011

 

One thought on “Twists of Guilt

Leave a Reply

