Pinpoints of Light


alone on this sandbar in a distant river,
I gaze upon the poem-infused stars
with a heart as empty as the great expanse
between those celestial bodies; my
spirit gone from my body, I wander
drunk among the proverbs, dance among strange
constellations for which no names have yet
been assigned except by some lone gazer
cataloging pinpoints of white on dark
map . . . I come back to myself at the river
lapping against my shins, my feet sunken
to the ankle in saturated sand.
I gaze upon these star-infused poems,
distant from this river’s lonely sandbar.

David M Pitchford
28 Sept 2011

One thought on “Pinpoints of Light

Leave a Reply

