Doctor, am I a Stalker?


you see, doctor, I couldn’t help myself,
I was moved by something deep within, yet
this force seemed . . . not of me . . . alien
somehow and yet not. like a stray command
from a program running in the background:
you know, doc, like your virus protection
on your laptop. just like that. it took over
and forced me to drive to my ex-wife’s house.

I see. is this normal for you? do you often
find yourself spellbound by compulsions? obsessive?

no, doc, that’s why I had to talk to you:
consciously, I just want to leave her be,
let her move on, turn the page, all that jazz;
but I can’t help myself going back there.

David M Pitchford
9 Oct 2011

Leave a Reply

