How to Take You


I don’t know how to take you, but I do
know I want to take you. I want to take
you to my heart, and to my room, and to
show you wonders new to you.     I want to
take you places I’ve never seen, so we
can each write a poem of its wonders,
and compare notes to see the slant from your
eyes to mine     —     thank the universe and every
living god that we do have separate eyes,
for I would not want you to see me with mine.
I want to take you and take you and take you
until your every moan is captured in paint,
filling in the empty spaces within
all of edward hopper’s diners and prints.

David M Pitchford
2 Nov 2011

Leave a Reply

