Over Coffee with Aunti Muse


you’re a bum,     she told me.     like it was some
grand revelation.          you don’t work; you sit
around all day doing nothing   —   hold on,
I tell her,     I read a lot, study and write
poetry every chance I get   .   .   .   her face
puckers in a most amazing expression
of distaste and she continues with her
assassination of my character:
productive; what use is all your writing
if you never put it out there? I don’t
see you getting published  .  .  .  maybe you’re just
not that good, as good as you think you are  .  .  .
well, you might know if you read my work, but
all the same, I’m being true to myself.

David M Pitchford
4 Nov 2011

Leave a Reply

