Galahad Trips to Tennessee


break me out,     she said.     I will love you,     she
swore.     her letters always brief and to the point.
halfway to  indy from here, barreling
down  i-74 east, my first tire
blew out, shreds of tire across the highway
like feathers from a murdered crow.     changing
the flat took an hour because my car trunk
is full of books and  .  .  .  distracted . . . later,

south-turning onto sixty-five, tank full
and a good station tuned on the radio,
miles melting behind me to distant gone
memory,     rain to clear blue sky turning
to optimism when the second tire blew
and when I got to her house—already gone . . .

David M Pitchford
6 Nov 2011

One thought on “Galahad Trips to Tennessee

Leave a Reply

