Different Ideas of Fun


she asked would I like to go ice skating
with her. I told her ice rinks don’t grow in
tropical climates. to her quizzical
look, I replied that the cruise was due to
sail next tuesday from tampa, did she care
to join me now that hurricane season
was over in this year’s atlantic . . . could
she clear her schedule; she replied perhaps
I could strengthen my ankles diving, all
that swimming, she said, would do us well.
I must confess I was considering
boat drinks and shooting island scenery
and her in it scantily clad sans ice skates
perhaps a veil pretensive of honeymoon.

David M Pitchford
22 Nov 2011

Leave a Reply

