Mister Nice Guy


so when’s the last time being a nice guy
got you anything in this world, she asks.
thinking about it, I’m curious to find
I never consider whether being
nice works — I am who I am. being me
is the one job in this crazy world I know
I’m qualified through and through to do. so
the question remains, and what to answer.

not being nice, though, always got me heartburn
and a tension headache; going on long
enough, led me to migraines and an ulcer
scare bad enough to permanently alter
my diet. in the end, it gets me what
I want out of life . . . peace with who I am.

David M Pitchford
23 Nov 2011

One thought on “Mister Nice Guy

Leave a Reply

