Bridges Over a Million Miles


I would have brought you coffee in bed this
morning, Liza, but you’re a million miles
from here,          a seeming eternity,          and yet
I feel you tickle my soul with your words,
your fire warming me across impossible
distances.          your eyes stare back at me from
my mirror, fondness and dream swirling like
the clouds of cream in my coffee, mixing
toward inseparable togetherness.
my zen teaches me that desire and object
are one, and so I come to this wanting,
Liza, and here we are together, joined
by desire, as desire, and this wanting
itself our union across endless miles.

David M Pitchford
26 Nov 2011

Leave a Reply

