Stealing My Muse


I journeyed to the coast to see the sea
to watch the tides to hear the ocean in
a conch and see that mysterious line
where waves reach to the stars, tide washing out
to wash in again within hours.          I cast
my past falling into that sea, tumbling
in white lather atop a wave washing
out.          I waited as night passed, stars fading
as the sun rises behind.          rapt within
this moment, the words are coming back to me,
singing the day awake, and I am now,
remembering to live with all my stars
displayed, and with my dimpled muse, learning
to exist again poetically joined.

David M Pitchford
27 Nov 2011

One thought on “Stealing My Muse

Leave a Reply

