Yella Dove Tavern: Verse 37


one night down at yella’s linda asked me
if I thought I could have a hooker for
a girlfriend.           over rum drinks we got all
philosophical about morality
and prostitution and whether a man
can be a man and not feel possessive
to distraction over the thought of his
significant other fucking others
for money — what’s more, can a man stomach
the benefits of such occupation,
linda asked me,           without humiliation?
I told her a man with my dearth of pride
might flourish under such an arrangement,
and that’s how we managed to get shacked up.

David M Pitchford
10 Dec 2011

Leave a Reply

