Nadine Needs a Man, Settles for a PBR


so it’s my night down at the yella dove
tending bar and nadine, who prefers you
call her ‘dean’, waltzes in and makes eyes like
she does and mine try to roll but I don’t
let them and she says to me,     bobby, I
need a man. need a man bad, but not a bad
man. soft enough to lay my head on, but
tough enough to punch a pony, hard enough
to bounce hammers off, punk enough to hang
here with the boys four nights a week, loyal
so bad he’ll wear a lo-jack but good looking
enough I’ll check on him anyway.          dean,
I say, you done had every man in town
and not a one of us satisfies you.

David M Pitchford
15 Feb 2012

One thought on “Nadine Needs a Man, Settles for a PBR

Leave a Reply

