Heard in a Love Song


to make you feel my love,   she said,   I would
walk a hundred miles of broken highway
over glass and burning coals barefoot;
to the ends of the earth to borrow wings
from icarus and daedalus,     don them
and fly to sister moon or brother mars.
to make you feel my love,   she sang,   I would
sail frozen seas and fast in burning sands   .  .  .

to feel your love,   I reply,   I need you
only to walk over here and hold me
this moment, this hour, this evening, this night.
to feel your love,   I reply,   I want you
to accept me as I am,   as I do
you, and overlook faults we all surely show.

Leave a Reply

