Sparking Gravity


you pulled me into your gravity     hard
like a hand gripped tight on my bicep that
night in the shared kitchen at work,   you thought
I was someone else and we laughed and your
smile was the radiance captivating
my imagination   —   you didn’t even
know my name,   though we had many times shared
smiles and a wave perhaps intercepted
having been meant for one more familiar.
now your eyes on mine bring a thrill long missed
as fancy steals me to wonder:     if I kissed
those full, luscious lips ever on the verge
of a smile,     would they kiss back half as ardent
as your sparkling eyes and my passion promise?

Leave a Reply

