the loveliest morning


it’s a good day to fall in love,     she said,
warm hands pressed against my chest,   eye gazing
up into mine.   heart tangled in my teeth
much as my hands in her hair,     what was I
to say?          doubts bitter in my throat,   I bent
recalling narcissus and kissed this beauty
and her tongue on mine performed miracles
massaging my spirit and heart to ease
tension and doubt and yesterday pains drained
as though fog from the morning burned away
by bright sunlight and optimism.          she
smiled then,   hands pulling me down to love her
beneath the fading stars and rising dawn
as we kissed awake the loveliest morning.

Leave a Reply

