Parking in the Rain


soft raindrops pattering on your windshield
lent the night such a surreal cushion;          strange
memories of being a teen     (so long
ago)     and fancy free,   all the time you
excitedly telling me about pets
you raised growing up,     and me watching you,
plotting stolen kisses should you pause to breathe
or even look directly at me a moment.

but you went on and on without meeting
my eye.     I got bored from lack of attention,
though being polite tried to hold my end
of that conversation about you, just you.
we said goodnight and parted and I still
wonder what the hell went on here tonight.

Leave a Reply

