morning after


I drank your beauty into my eyes,   your
kindness I drank like wine into my heart
my soul swallowed your tender lies and truths
sated and intoxicated my mind   .  .  .
your song flowed into my ears,   calmed spirit
and body alike;    your kisses poured out
all over me I gulped into memory
so that never again would I feel alone.

so drunk on you I can’t move,   barely breathing
I stagger through the night calling your name
into dreams dreamt under a hostile moon;
where were you when I awoke, love?     alone
under frightful skies, head and heart aching,
all I taste is the ache of wanting you more.

Leave a Reply

